(Minghui.org) Anyang City, located in the northernmost part of Henan Province, was one of the eight ancient capitals of China, and the birthplace of the oracle bone script. However, the values of traditional Chinese culture were shattered after the Cultural Revolution. After the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) began to persecute Falun Gong, a traditional spiritual discipline, in July 1999, the Anyang Education Bureau has actively followed the persecution policy and spread the hate propaganda to the students.

All the schools under the administration of Anyang, including four districts, four counties, and one county-level city, were required to participate in activities slandering Falun Gong, and many colleges were ordered to set up anti-cult associations targeting Falun Gong. Educational materials with content slandering Falun Gong have been presented in kindergartens, elementary schools, middle schools, high schools, and colleges, poisoning countless school children and college students.

Painting and Calligraphy Contest

The Anyang Education Bureau, in collusion with the Anyang Political and Legal Affairs Commission (PLAC), the Anyang Science and Technology Bureau, and the Anyang Anti-Cult Association, launched a bi-annual painting and calligraphy contest in 2009, with the slogan “promoting science, opposing cults, cleansing campuses, and building harmony.” They openly claimed it was for the purpose of demonizing Falun Gong.

The competition has been held every two years for a total of seven times, involving kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, and colleges. The schools were required to treat the contest as a political task and to set up work groups with a designated person in charge. The entries were evaluated among groups of elementary schools, secondary schools and universities. The scale of the competition has grown over the years.

The fifth contest, held on August 17, 2017, was hosted by Qiao Guoqiang, president of the Science and Technology Association, Zhao Qinglin, the association’s secretary, Cao Cheng, deputy director of the Anyang City 610 Office, and officials from local education bureaus and other government agencies.

Students from 71 schools participated in the contest, with 658 students receiving awards. The teachers in each school guided and tutored one to several students during the creation of their artworks, and a total of 219 teachers were involved. At least 16 teachers from different schools won the award of “Excellent Teacher” for their efforts in guiding almost all the works in their respective schools. 

The 16 teachers were: Yan Kai of Anyang Normal College of Fine Arts, Wang Chaoying of Anyang Engineering College, Liu Tianhua of the 39th Middle School, Yuan Chao of Yaobanyao Primary School, Sun Jingjing of Sanguanmiao Primary School, Yao Jiahui of Yinlu Primary School, Na Xiaoqing of Wangjiadian Primary School, Yao Ying of the 1st Experimental Primary School, Shou Jiyan of Xinghuacun Primary School, Chen Zewei of Longan Senior High School, Li Huiyong of Yindu Foreign Language Middle School, Yang Cuiping of Linzhou City Experimental Kindergarten, Chang Xiaohui of the Linzhou City Fourth Elementary School, Liang Haixia of Yuefei Primary School, Li Dan of Yangdian Mingde Primary School, and Ren Junjie of Jingdian Town No. 1 Primary School.

Three colleges, including the Anyang Institute of Technology, Anyang Teachers College, Anyang Vocational and Technical College, which had branches of the 610 Office (an extra-legal agency created specifically for the persecution of Falun Gong), were awarded for their excellent performance.

The sixth competition was held on August 7, 2019 and the award-winning works doubled that of the fifth contest, totaling 1,332 pieces. It was hosted by Chang Huiqin, president of the Anyang Science and Technology Association, Zhao Qinglin, the association’s secretary, Cao Cheng, who has become the director of the 610 Office and deputy secretary of the Anyang PLAC, and officials from the local education bureau.

The winning students came from 92 schools with 492 teachers as tutors. At least three colleges, one community school, two middle schools, three elementary schools and one kindergarten were awarded as excellent entities, including Anyang Normal College, Anyang Engineering College, Anyang Vocational and Technical College, Anyang County Vocational Middle School, Anyang City Twenty-third Middle School, Anyang City First Experimental Primary School, Dongfeng Primary School, Anyang City Steel Second Road Primary School, Linzhou City First Middle School and Linzhou City Experimental Kindergarten.

The seventh contest on November 25, 2021 selected 1,559 award-winning works from local kindergartens, elementary schools, middle schools and colleges. It was hosted by Chang Huiqin and Zhang Haishan, president and vice president of the Anyang Science and Technology Bureau, Zhang Wei, an instructor of the Anyang PLAC and other officials from the education bureau. 

Anti-Cult Essay Contest

Since 2014, the Anyang Education Bureau has also collaborated with the PLAC, the Anyang Science and Technology Association and the Anti-Cult Association to organize a large-scale Anti-Cult Essay Contest. The contest also runs every two years, and many students from colleges, primary and secondary schools have participated. Their school teachers tutored the students with the demonizing propaganda against Falun Gong put out by the communist regime.

The fourth contest, on December 16, 2020, was again hosted by Chang Huiqin and Zhang Haishan, president and vice president of the Anyang Science and Technology Bureau and Zhang Wei of the Anyang PLAC. 

A total of 747 essays from 67 schools won awards. In particular, 246 students from Anyang Engineering College were among the winning students tutored by five teachers, including Shang Jiangxu, Wang Lixia, Dong Ran, Wang Qian, and Duo Boyu. 

Six other schools that were awarded for their active promotion of the activities included Anyang Normal College, Anyang Kindergarten Teachers College, Anyang Vocational College, Anyang County Experimental Middle School, Pangeng Middle School and Linzhou First Experimental Primary School.

Additional Perpetrators

The Anyang Education Bureau is located on Chaoxia Road, Wenfeng District, Anyang City, Henan Province, with postal code 455001. In addition to the abovementioned people involved in defaming Falun Gong, the following employees of the bureau were also involved:

Director Huang Yan: female, born in November 1968Deputy Director Zhu Zhonglin: male, born in May 1964Deputy Director Kong Fanhe: male, born in November 1963Researcher Liu Zhijun: male, born in February 1971Discipline Team Lead Zhang Jintao: male, born in February 1974Researcher Zheng Xiaoling: female, born in December 1961Researcher Xue Weigu: male, born in December 1963

The Anyang Science and Technology Bureau is located on Fuyuan Street in Wenfeng District, Anyang City, postal code 455099. In addition to the aforementioned people involved in the contests, the following employees were also involved in the persecution of Falun Gong:

Party Secretary Zhao QinglinChairperson Chang HuiqinVice Chairperson Li QingshanVice Chairperson Zhang HaishanResearcher Zhang Xingyu