(Clearwisdom.net) Mr. Zhang Tao from Jingyuan County, Gansu Province, was illegally sentenced to 7 years in prison in 2010. He is currently held in Ward No.8 of Lanzhou Prison in Gansu Province.

In July 2010, Ward No. 8 team leader Duan Xiaolu instigated criminal inmates Chen Zhigang and Li Weijun to physically abuse Mr. Zhang. They beat him so severely that Mr. Zhang was unable to get out of bed; his ribs were nearly broken. He was later placed in solitary confinement, where inmates Chen Zhigang, Li Weijun, Ma Kelin and Kong Yongping monitored, physically abused and mistreated him around the clock. Inmate Chen Zhigang had his term reduced because of the “merit points” he earned by beating and abusing Falun Gong practitioners.

Other practitioners currently held in Lanzhou Prison:
Ward No. 1: Mr. Cui Yonglin, teacher, was sentenced to 8 years in prison by Baiyin Court.
Ward No. 2: Mr. Sun Zhaohai, from Heilongjiang Province, was sentenced to 19 years in prison.
Ward No. 3: Mr. Fang Shuguang, was sentenced to 9 years in prison by Chengguan Court, in Lanzhou City, in 2009; Mr. Wei Xingzhu, from Baiyin City, was also sentenced to prison.
Ward No. 4: Mr. Chang Jubin, from Baiyin City, was sentenced to 11 years in 2002.
Ward No. 5: Mr. Jia Peifu, from Baiyin City, was recently sentenced for the second time.
Ward No. 7: Mr. Wei Anyue, from Jinchang, was sentenced to 10 years in prison; Mr. Wei Junren, from Pingliang, was sentenced to20 years in prison; Mr. Li Tianxiao, from Ganzhou, was sentenced to imprisonment twice, with the second sentence for 3 years given in 2010.
Ward No. 8: Mr. Yang Yinghai, from Lanzhou City, was sentenced to 10 years in 2004; Mr. Zhang Tao, from Baiyin City, was also sentenced to prison.
Ward No. 9: Mr. Zhang Guangli, from Baiyin City, was sentenced to 12 years in prison.
Ward No. 10: Mr. Li Wenming, from Lanzhou, was sentenced to 20 years in prison.

Parties involved in the persecution:
Chu Zhiyong, prison head, Lanzhou Prison, Gansu Province
Zhang Quanmin, deputy prison head
Liu Yuanzhen, political head of the prison